Before Trumpism in 2016, there was the revenge of Real America in 2018.

The satirical cult favorite set in 2018 envisioned the fact-free political and rhetorical lunacy of Trumpism. This wildly imaginative tale of America gone willingly bonkers aspires, as Lewis Carroll in Alice In Wonderland so eloquently put it, to believe six impossible things at once: if not before breakfast then certainly by supper.

 

Special Holiday Sale on Amazon: $9.99 paperbound, $2.99 ebook.

 

            What Reviewers are Saying

"A debut novel of fierce intelligence...a pointed and very funny mockery of our current cynical age." Kirkus Review

 

Political satire fiction at its best…The Execution Channel succeeds in dancing between science fiction, political commentary, and social satire.”  Midwest Book Review

 

“With colorful characters so ludicrous they could only be real, McCord’s satire of profit, politics, and capital punishment should be required reading.”  Clarion Review

 

 A brave new read...Satire is scant these days, but Michael McCord’s 'The Execution Channel” is pulling up the slack.” The Keene Sentinel

 

        Where can I Find Real America? Here's a Helpful Synopsis

Sometime in the not-so-distant future...

The birth of Real America is not without complications

 

What will readers encounter when exploring the subversive, satirical universe of Michael McCord's new novel The Execution Channel: A Political Fable? First, they will travel to a magical future and discover the emerging new country of Real America, salute a new flag (see the book cover), and worship the Galtian Imperatives, a faith-based economic religion which promises that extreme austerity and eliminating government will ensure “prosperity for all” though the exact details of the alchemy remain elusive. Next, readers will find that John Galt, the fictional hero of Ayn Rand’s Atlas Shrugged, has become the founding father icon of Real America and the Real American Party, the new political force sweeping the land. Local militias do their patriotic duty and lead the privatization craze throughout Real America while employing a creative protection racket plan to fit every business budget.

 

Finally, readers will behold the majesty of The Execution Channel – a televinet network that promotes a focus-group tested variety of live executions in football stadium settings. As foretold by the Galtian Imperatives, The Execution Channel is hailed as a model of modern economic policy, an entertainment and Ponzi investment scheme bolt of genius that seamlessly merges massive private sector profits and public sector bankruptcy.

 

"It's unlike any other book I've ever read...It's good. It's scary. It's fantasy. It's reality."

-- Veronica Andrews, Off the Shelf 

 

Set in 2018 in a not-so United States of America, The Execution Channel: A Political Fable is a satire for our times and fantastical in its imaginative scope of American political rhetoric and public policy run amok. McCord, an award-winning journalist and writer who lives in New Hampshire, offers fictional reportage with a provocative twist and more than a few punch lines -- and with roots in the dysfunctional political headlines of today.

 

 "The Execution Channel: A Political Fable gives a warning about where the state of American politics may be heading, as well as a tongue-in-cheek, sometimes irreverent and eyebrow-raising peek at today's extremist headlines."

-- Jessica Handly, Veracity Stew

 

Readers also will encounter an intriguing, colorful cast of characters that embrace a higher calling of extreme self-interest:

  • Gov. Lawrence C. “Demon Seed” Bowie of the Real American Republic of Texas is in a political fix because his ‘War on the Poor’ tax plan isn’t working.
  • Texas militia leader Col. Rufus T. Fairbush wants to replace Bowie by the bullet or ballot while running on a platform to eliminate the idea of government.
  • Conservative televinet producer Jason Bravtart seeks redemption following the scandalous cancellation of The Real Homeless of Malibu Beach.
  • Billionaire speculator James “Big Stake” Frimmer II wants another big financial score to spread his political influence.
  • In the SoCal Liberty Territory of California, Penelope the Psychic is forced to be a confidential informant for Mr. Jones, the most feared security operator in Real America.

 

The Execution Channel: A Political Fable is a satire in the tradition of Swift, Heller, Vonnegut, Orwell, Voltaire, and Marx (Groucho, that is). It will leave readers wondering: Just how REAL is Real America?

 

"A dose of absurdity: In a new novel, Michael McCord makes our

insane political climate seem reasonable." -- The Wire

 

Michael McCord, the former political editor and columnist for The Portsmouth (NH) Herald, is an award-winning journalist and writer. He covered his first presidential primary campaign in 1980 and has written for more than 40 publications, including the Boston Globe and Globe Magazine, on politics, economics, business, film, books, theatre, music, sports and education. Among many endeavors, McCord interviewed Marilyn Monroe's largely unknown first husband and co-wrote the produced theatrical play “think twice before you think” about the life and writings of e.e. cummnings.The Execution Channel: A Political Fable is his first published novel.

 

Check out and read all of Chapter One here.

Find out more about the author here.

 

Back Cover

LAUGH AND BE VERY AFRAID

Variations of this ad ran on various national politcal blog sites.

 

Welcome to Paul

Ryan's Dreamland

 

By 2018, Tea Party pioneers rule Real America, an Ayn Randian utopia of government eliminated and moochers vanquished. What could possibly go wrong? "With colorful characters so ludicrous they could only be real" (Clarion Review), this fantastical satire of ideological lunacy run amok delivers a provocative punch.


Where to Find

ONLINE: You can buy paperbound copies through my CreateSpace estore page (spoiler alert: more royalties for me), Amazon, or Barnes & Noble.

 

DIGITAL: Download the eBook version (which includes a special Cast of Characters page) via Kindle, Nook, or at Kobo Books.

 

GLOBAL: For those of you in Australia, Booktopia lists the book; in New Zealand, at Fishpond; and Junglee in India.

 

PERSONAL: If you would like an autographed copy of the book for you or a special someone, contact Michael at mmccord1@live.com.

 

GOOD COMPANY: Thanks to readers, the book cracked the Top 20 in the Kindle Store political humor category (#8 for a brief time) right up there with Stephen Colbert, Bill Maher, Dave Barry, P. J. O'Rourke and Glenn Beck (Glenn Beck and humor? Who Knew?).

 

READ: New Hampshire Business Review interview with your humble author about The Execution Channel: A Political Fable. Click here to read all about it.

 

FAQs: By popular demand, I answer questions from curious readers about the RA on the flag, the power of the Imbecile Caucus or deciphering the mystery of the Galtian Imperatives. Go to this page to find out more.

 

*****

 

READERS Speak Out!

From anonymous one-star reader review on Barnes and Noble: No. Just...no.

 

Get ready to laugh, and cry for America...Prepare to see the real American society through the eyes of a satirical author whose political comedy is a swipe at everyone trying to make today's America very ungovernable...The hilarious edge of the narrative helped in making the read a lot more enjoyable than it would have been had there just been a doomsday undertone spewing forth from McCord's pen. Assuredly, he got many things right in his book -- Nigerian author George Shadow.

 

It's fun and funny. It's clever. It's satire. It's prophetic. It's scary. Michael McCord has a really sharp eye and pen. You giggle early on into your read. Suddenly, you recognize these characters and you start to squirm a little...We are flown to an alternate universe where there is little left of what a few of us can still remember as responsive and responsible American government...McCord gets it. And in giving it to the reader in his very entertaining manner, we are uncomfortably reminded of how fatal the cost of our apathy can be. -- Carol Selsberg, Maine

 

What if John Oliver of the Daily Show wrote the next five years or so of American history?...The role of the satire is to make you laugh (which The Execution Channel does on every page) as well as distill the notion that many of us have after overdosing on recent news: You don't know whether to laugh, cry, or move to Latin America or Australia. -- Bruce W. Perry, Vermont author of "Ascent" and "Barbarous Coasts." 

 

As a madhatter teapartying conservative it was a rough ride in some places. But the overall story should be looked at in context as a satire. Sometimes I would flip characters in my head and recognize progressive heavyweights as the characters. It was ultimately a fun read and if you are a progressive, liberal, or whatever brand you want then it will have you rolling on the floor in laughter. If you're a conservative do like I did, enjoy it as a fun read and bite your tongue in the appropriate places. “LONG LIVE JOHN GALT”! -- Michael Carr, New Hampshire

 

I enjoyed reading The Execution Channel. It's a real wake-up call, because it's not far fetched in today's world. Mike McCord has created a scenario that is at times funny and at other times chilling. Being a political junkie, I liked it a lot and recommend to other political junkies. -- Joan Jacobs, New Hampshire

 

What a wild ride! I found this parable scary and hilarious by turn. The scary part is when you listen to the news and hear it reflected in the book, or maybe it is the other way around. Hilarious at some of the contemporary parallels to what is being said on TV today, that are actually being said by characters in the book. Great satire, even if it does cut to the bone a bit too often and makes the reader squirm.-- Cyndy Chase, New Hampshire

 

The book is laugh out loud funny in places. At other times it seems to be an eerie predictor of what is just about to happen. It's so well done that political junkies from every state will be able to identify which members of their legislatures might make up the Imbecile Caucus of the Mad Hatter Republicans in Real America, on both a state and national level. -- Susan Bruce, New Hampshire

 

See complete reader comments hereTell me what you think about the book by sending me a comment or question message at mmccord1@live.com, post a comment on the book's Facebook page or write a review on the Amazon page. I will post all comments on the web site especially those from John Galt fans.

 

*****

Read All About It: Check out the national press release about The Execution Channel: A Political Fable ("New Satirical Novel Asks: Are you Ready for Real America?").

 

*****

Kickstarter: Thanks to the great folks who helped support the book with their generous donations through a Kickstarter crowdfunding project.

 

*****

FACEBOOK: Find out about upcoming appearances, interviews and stories, media spots and bookstore signing events here or on The Execution Channel: A Political Fable Facebook page below.

Facebook Connect

ETC...

TWITTER

Follow the latest adventures of The Execution Channel: A Political Fable on Twitter @mmgolfer.

 

 

Print Print | Sitemap
© The Execution Channel